55+ Defensive Driving Program - 4 hr Refresher Course - Online
Adult / Retirement and Beyond -
Adult Fall 2022 - Summer 2023
Improve your driving skills and if you're 55 or older, get a discount on your personal auto insurance. If you have successfully completed the 8-hour course, then you are eligible to renew your insurance certificate by taking this 4-hour course. This 4-hour refresher Defensive Driving Course, is taught by experienced, professional traffic safety instructors, including officers of the Minnesota State Patrol. The class consists of lecture, films and discussions using Zoom virtual technology. There is no behind-the-wheel driving and there are no tests.
According to Minnesota state law, people age 55 and older who complete a state approved defensive driving course are eligible to receive a 10 percent, three-year discount on auto insurance. Contact your insurance agent for details. After you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of completion to give your insurance company.
For more than 80 years, the Minnesota Safety Council, a private, not-for-profit organization, has been dedicated to keeping Minnesotans safe from unintentional injuries and accidents.