Improve your driving skills during this initial 8-hour course over 2 days, and if you're 55 or older, get a discount on your personal auto insurance. The Defensive Driving Course, developed by the National Safety Council, teaches basic crash prevention techniques and has a proven record of reducing traffic violations and incidents. It's taught by experienced, professional traffic safety instructors, including officers of the Minnesota State Patrol. The class consists of lecture, films and discussions using Zoom virtual technology. There is no behind-the-wheel driving and there are no tests. Registration closes by November 3rd. According to Minnesota state law, people age 55 and older who complete a state approved defensive driving course are eligible to receive a 10 percent, three-year discount on auto insurance. Contact your insurance agent for details. After you complete the course, you will receive a certificate of completion to give your insurance company. If you have successfully completed the 8 hour course, then you are eligible to renew your insurance certificate by taking the 4 hour course.